Lost Books – The Lie

Writing in the Guardian of his admiration for the now largely neglected (in the UK at least) Italian writer Alberto Moravia in 2011 (“It’s hard to think of a writer who has been more perceptive about the disappointments of conventional sex and marriage”), John Burnside describes his first encounter with Moravia’s work – a lurid 1970s Panther edition of The Lie, originally written in 1965 and translated by Angus Davidson a year later. Sadly, The Lie does not seem to have been reprinted since, and so it was the very same edition that I read when I discovered that 1965 was the chosen year for Karen and Simon’s biannual book club.

Though the novel’s title is singular, it applies in numerous ways, beginning, perhaps, with the lie on which the narrator, Francesco, bases his marriage to a working-class woman, Cora, believing that her origins make her more ‘genuine’:

“…a myth had taken shape in my mind, the myth of the working-class as the sole depository of all that was genuine in the world.”

He marries Cora when she is reluctant to move in with him, becoming step-father to her young daughter, Baba. After a few years together, however, he finds his feelings for Cora have changed:

“Not merely did I no longer desire Cora, not merely did I no longer find anything attractive or significant in those working-class characteristics which had made me fall in love with her; but I also felt an unreasoning aversion which expressed itself mainly in an uncontrollable, acutely painful, spasmodic uncommunicativeness.”

He withdraws from Cora and Baba’s life completely, aided by his work as a journalist which requires he visit other countries for months at a time, “living in my own home like a stranger who rents a room.” It is only a number of years later, as the novel proper begins (what has happened previously is told in a Prologue) that he decides to “go from non-involvement to involvement” again after receiving a letter which claims that Cora is a procuress. He initially confronts Baba, now twenty-two, with this allegation, who not only confirms it is true but goes on to tell him that her mother attempted to prostitute her when she was fourteen. She is able to tell him the story as she feels as if it happened to a different person:

“The Baba of fourteen years who was led by the hand by Cora to her house was a different Baba from the one who, let us suppose, sat her school-leaving certificate two years ago.”

At the end of this conversation Baba makes Francesco promise that they will live as a family again – not only will he act as father to her but as a husband to Cora:

“I mean that during meals you’ll talk to her naturally and kindly, and that, apart from meals, you won’t avoid her and you’ll show yourself affectionate.”

Much of the novel is concerned with Francesco’s investigation into Cora’s other life, and, in particular, the events surrounding Baba when she was fourteen. He is suited to this role as his conversation generally consists of a relentless series of questions – perhaps as a result of his background as a journalist. However, he is also to some extent investigating his own past, and what he knew about Cora when he married her. Moravia is sometimes regarded as out-dated because of the attitudes of his male characters to women, but it is clear that Francesco cannot simply be read as a mouthpiece for Moravia as, though he is (sometimes pompously) reflective, he also lacks self-knowledge.

The novel is also driven by the tension of Francesco’s attraction to Baba, an attraction which both is and is not incestuous. Francesco is aware that his desire is partly created by his role as father-figure, and this is what makes it unreliable:

“…at the very source of your feelings for Baba, and of the physical relationship you might have with her, there is nothing frank or genuine, but something unreal, false, non-genuine in fact, and that is the idea of paternity. This idea is an illusion, but you have need of it in order to love Baba…”

It is such forensic examinations of sex and sexuality which make Moravia both an unfashionable and interesting writer. We can also see here that Francesco and Baba create a lie with their relationship, of which they can only afford to be half-aware.

Lying is also tackled in the form of the novel itself, which is presented as a diary which “has been kept that it may afterwards be used for creating a novel.” We learn that Francesco wrote a previous novel which he destroyed because if its “unmistakeable air of falseness, of unreality, of artificiality.” The diary is intended to allow Francesco to write from reality, though it also influences his behaviour: at one point, referring to his attraction to Baba, he says:

“The temptation is strong, almost irresistible, but each time I manage to control myself in this way: I think of my diary.”

Yet at the same time Moravia makes it clear we cannot trust the diary as Francesco admits on more than one occasion to inventing passages, firstly when he claims to find a copy of Oedipus Rex by his bedside after speaking to Baba on the night he read the letter:

“It’s not true, in fact, that when I woke up suddenly during the night after my conversation with Baba I found Oedipus Rex in a popular translation on my bedside table, opened it haphazardly and lit upon some lines that seemed to me to be adapted to my situation.”

Later he will create entire scenes for the diary, including a seduction of Baba. Though these are admitted to, it is clear that the diary cannot be regarded as truth:

“So, in some cases, I amputate or disguise or actually supress; in others, I develop, I dilate, I reconstruct…”

The Lie is not Moravia’s best novel, but, driven by both Francesco and Moravia’s compulsion, it is an intense, compelling affair deserving of rediscovery. As John Burnside lamented eight years ago:

“Moravia is neglected nowadays, which is a great pity, for this rare combination of moral purpose and artistic integrity once placed him among Europe’s finest writers.”

Though there have been some US publication of his work, most recently by New York Review of Books Classics imprint, his last UK publication seems to have been in 1993, and he is long overdue a revival.

Tags: , ,

12 Responses to “Lost Books – The Lie”

  1. JacquiWine Says:

    Really interesting review, Grant. I loved Moravia’s Agostino when I read it a few years ago – another novel that explores sexuality, albeit in a different context.

    Do you know if The Lie has ever been adapted for the stage or screen? It strikes me as the type of story that may have been filmed back in the ’60s, possibly in the style of Le Mepris (Godard’s take on Contempt).

    • 1streading Says:

      I hadn’t thought of that, but, yes, there is an Italian film version, though from 1985. The summary make it seem as if there has been some change of emphasis in the story…

  2. Simon T Says:

    Moravio is one of those names I see around a lot but know nothing about – thanks for introducing me to his world, and for joining in the 1965 club!

  3. The #1965Club is here! – Stuck in a Book Says:

    […] 1st Readings […]

  4. kaggsysbookishramblings Says:

    How interesting, Grant – sounds rather like the most unreliable narrator going, and an unusual plot. I’ve not got round to any Moravia (although I have owned at least one of his books in my time) – but it does seem as if he’s unjustly ignored.

  5. Scott W. Says:

    That cover! I haven’t read this, but your review certainly makes me want to read more Moravia (I’m working through his Roman Stories right now). It’s astounding to me how he can employ these noxious writer-antagonists and still manage to keep things interesting.

    I thought I had read somewhere that a new English publication of The Indifferent Ones was forthcoming, but I can’t find any trace of it. Maybe I dreamed it.

    • 1streading Says:

      That’s a pity as I would love to read that, and second hand copies are not cheap. Hopefully you are right and there has simply been a delay! I haven’t read any of his short stories but I do have a couple of volumes that I hope to get round to soon.

  6. whatmeread Says:

    Hmm, this sounds very interesting. I am not familiar with Moravia.

  7. In praise of the old, fragile and crumbly (and their lost publishers…) | Kaggsy's Bookish Ramblings Says:

    […] in and out of fashion; one that springs to mind is Alberto Moravia who’s been championed by Grant recently. And any number of women authors have disappeared under the radar; popular names during […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.